secondary reading intervention framework: Granite School District
color bar
home button
color bar

smiling girl picture

Tier 1

3-Tier Model: Tier 1

    The Granite School District model follows the Three-Tier Model recommended by the Utah State Office of Education. In this model, Tier 1 instruction “ . . . refers to reading instruction for ALL students within ALL core content area classrooms. . . . Content area instruction should support specific Utah core curricula by emphasizing content area vocabulary and research-validated literacy practices.”  Instruction will be based on the state core standards and objectives for each academic area.We do not recommend that schools have Tier 1 reading classes for on-level students. Students reading on level or above should be considered for world languages or other electives.


Three-Tier Model